Lacey Lecture 2016 - Magnificent Meadows

Tickets available here to purchase.

Join North Wales Wildlife Trust for our annual Lacey Lecture, this year given by Dr Trevor Dines: Plantlife's botanical specialist and star of Channel 4's 'Wild Things'

Presenting on 'A meadows revival: putting the colour back into the countryside', Trevor will also be taking a post-lecture Q&A session and giving guests an opportunity to chat directly with him during the break.

Enjoy some refreshments; discover more about the amazing work of the Wildlife Trust around North Wales; and pick up a special wildlife Christmas gift from our visiting shop!

At the fantastic Venue Cyrmu, Llandudno. Friday 11th November, 7pm to 9.30pm.



Tickets £12 (+booking fee) from Venue Cymru box office (01492 872000 or

A brief history

The annual Lacey Lecture, presented by the Wildlife Trust is a tradition which has been going for over 15 years. It is in memory of Professor William Lacey, known by everyone as ‘Bill’ Lacey. For those who may not know of him, he was a prominent figure in the Botany Department of University College North Wales in Bangor, where he achieved great academic distinction and international standing in palaeobotany. He was also an inspirational teacher and a practical man when it came to conservation.

Bill Lacey took a keen and active interest in the natural history of his surroundings, and inspired many others to do likewise. Together with a small group of friends and colleagues, he helped establish the North Wales Naturalists’ Trust in 1963 to acquire Cors Goch, an Anglesey fen that had been saved from use as a landfill site. He became the Trust’s first Secretary, was 14 years our Chairman and then our President.

He was an academic, teacher and practical conservationist of great skill and dedication and the Trust is grateful to Bill and to his family for the time and energy they have given to wildlife.

Amazing speakers since 2001

2015 Nick Baker
2014 Nigel Brown
2013 Chris Baines
2012 Natasha de Vere
2011 Mike Dilger
2010 Graham Harvey
2009 Callum Roberts
2008 Brent Elliot
2007 Paul Evans
2006 Michael Leach
2005 Aubrey Manning
2004 Jill Attenborough
2003 Iolo Williams
2002 Chris Baines
2001 Robert Swan


FilenameFile size
lacey_lecture_2016_a5_flyer.jpg270.76 KB